Narragunnawali Awards


Held biennially since 2017, the Narragunnawali Awards are the only national awards program that recognises and celebrates Australian schools and early learning services that are implementing outstanding reconciliation initiatives. Finalists are acknowledged for strengthening relationships, building respect, and providing meaningful opportunities in the classroom, around the school or service, and with the community. 

There are two categories:

  • Schools: this category incorporates primary, secondary, senior secondary and combined schools within the Government, Independent or Catholic sectors.
  • Early Learning: this category incorporates early childhood education and care, preschool, family day care and out of school hours care services.

2021 Finalists Announced

"The judges were impressed by the strong leadership, passion and commitment to reconciliation that was evident across the applications.The panel were also pleased to see that even with the challenges posed by COVID-19, schools and early learning services ensured that reconciliation remained a priority in 2020"  – Karen Mundine, CEO Reconciliation Australia

Early Learning category:

Balnarring Pre-School (VIC)

St Peter’s Girls Early Learners Centre (SA)

Tumut Community Preschool (NSW)

Schools category:

Briar Road Public School (NSW)

Mosman Park Primary School (WA)

St Virgil’s College (TAS)

Thanks to all schools and early learning services that shared their reconciliation stories through their applications.

The 2021 awards ceremony will take place as part of the Australian Reconciliation Convention on 15–17 November.

2019 Early Learning Finalists


Forbes Preschool

2019 Schools Finalists


Maclean High School

Judging Panel

Geraldine Atkinson


Geraldine Atkinson is a Bangerang/Wiradjuri woman who has devoted her career to expanding the possibilities available to Koorie people through education. Geraldine is President of the Victorian Aboriginal Education Association Incorporated (VAEAI) and has made a significant impact in the area of early childhood, and has always regarded education as being the best instrument of progress.

Professor Peter Buckskin


Professor Peter Buckskin is a Narungga man from the Yorke Peninsula in South Australia. For over 40 years Professor Buckskin’s passion has been the pursuit of educational excellence for Aboriginal peoples. Professor Buckskin is Co-Chair of Reconciliation South Australia and is a Fellow of the Australian College of Educators.

Sharon Davis

Bardi Kija

Sharon Davis is a proud Aboriginal woman, from both the Bardi and Kija peoples of the Kimberley, and is committed to enhancing the education experience for Aboriginal students, families and communities and strengthening Aboriginal education for the benefit of all. Sharon is Director of Education at Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS).